Connect with us


Nepal squad announced for Zimababwe ‘A’ Series, Gyanendra still in exile

Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) on Thursday announced a 23-member squad for the upcoming bilateral series against visiting Zimbabwe ‘A’ as former skipper Gyanendra Malla continues to live in exile.

Nepal are playing three three 50-over matches and Twenty20 matches each against the second string Zimbabwean side that includes eight capped players.

Gyanendra was also an absentee during the Papua New Guinea one-day international series and preceding Twenty20 Tri-Nation Series also involving Malaysia that concluded earlier this month. While the team management said he was rested, Gyanendra has also been in a patchy form with his bat fetching little or no runs since the Twenty20 World Cup Qualifiers in Oman.

The squad sees the return of opener Sunil Dhamala who played for the national team during the 2017 ICC World Cricket League Championship home series against Kenya and ACC Emerging Teams Cup in Bangladesh.  

Right arm seamer Kishor Mahato, meanwhile, and U-19 spin bowling allrounder Bashir Ahmad have been included in the senior side for the first time. While Kishor has been impressing since the Prime Minister Cup, Bashir had an excellent Pro Club Championship Tournament in his hometown Rupandehi.

Sandeep Lamichhane will continue to lead the Nepali team that also includes Dipendra Singh Airee, Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif Sheikh, Aarif Sheikh, Rohit Paudel, Binod Bhandari, Karan KC, Sompal Kami, Dev Khanal, Sagar Dhakal, Bikram Sob, Adil Ansari, Bhim Sharki, Sushan Bhari Shrestha, Pawan Sarraf, Abinash Bohora, Lokesh Bam, Bibek Yadav and Shahab Alam.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



More in Latest

error: Content is protected !!